Who we are

Cllr David Moore (Chair)

David Moore

David was born in Seascale in Cumbria and raised his family there.  His grandchildren are now the 6th generation to be raised in the village. He has worked in the family business all his life and served as a Parish Councillor and a Copeland Borough Councillor representing Seascale for over 36 years.

David was a Retained Fire Fighter with Seascale Fire Station for 42 years, retiring in 2013 to allow more time to devote to community/council work.  During the last five years he has served on the Directly Elected Mayor’s Executive with responsibility for Nuclear and Corporate Services.  He has been Deputy Mayor of Copeland for the last three years and is also the Council’s representative on Nuleaf where he is Vice Chair.

In his role as a Parish Councillor he was elected in 2005 as Chairman of the West Cumbria Site Stakeholder Group and enjoys working with the nuclear industry to ensure that community views are represented.

Cllr Sean Chaytor (Vice-Chair)

Cllr Sean Chaytor

Sean was first elected to Hull City Council in 2002 and has represented the Marfleet Ward ever since.  He is married to Clare and has 3 children at university.

Sean has been involved with the Nuclear Free Local Authorities as a substitute member and as a member representing his authority for over a decade.   He is committed to working to deal with the legacy of our nuclear industry and to work to deliver a safe solution to the issue of how we deal with legacy wastes.

Phil Matthews (Executive Director)

Phil Matthews

Phil Matthews joined Nuleaf in 2012 and was appointed Executive Director in 2014.  He previously served as the Sustainable Development Commission’s (SDC) Senior Policy Advisor and Acting Director in Scotland, auditing the Scottish Government’s performance and reporting to the First Minister. He also worked for nine years as a Partner/Director of CAG Consultants, delivering a range of strategic work on climate change and energy for clients including the UK and Scottish Government.

In addition to his work with Nuleaf, Phil is a Board Member of the Scottish Environmental Protection Agency (SEPA) and a Vice-President of GMF Europe. He has previously held a number of other non-executive roles including Chair of Transform Scotland and Non-Executive Director of Zero Waste Scotland.

Originally from Aberdeen, Phil now lives in Edinburgh. He holds an Honours Degree in Geography from Edinburgh University and a Masters (with Distinction) in Environmental Change and Management from Oxford University.